Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket Juniors march into semi-final

Newmarket advanced to the semi final of the Ducon Cup when they held on for a narrow victory over Cullen by 1-6 to 1-5, in the quarter final game played in difficult conditions at Ballydesmond on Friday evening.

Newmarket got the first score of the game after tight early exchanges, in the tenth minute when T.J. Bodie pointed. John Cronin was on hand to strike a crucial goal at the end of the opening quarter before Cullen had their first score with a point in the seventeenth minute. T.J. Bodie and Brian Daly added points for Newmarket but both sides failed to add to their tally in the final ten minutes of the half as Newmarket turned over in front by 1-3 to 0-1.

T.J. Bodie edged Newmarket further in front when converting a free in the second minute after the restart, as conditions deteriorated by the minute on a fairly bleak June evening. Cullen scored next but Shane Murphy was on hand to kick a point for Newmarket to restore their six point lead, seven minutes into the half. Scores proved to be at a premium but it was Cullen who found the range with two points. As the game entered the closing ten minutes, Cullen’s hopes were boosted when they were awarded a penalty, which they duly dispatched. With just a single point now separating the sides, Shane Murphy kicked a much needed point for Newmarket with six minutes remaining. Cullen peppered the Newmarket defence in the final quarter but outstanding goalkeeper Niall O’Connor and an impressive back division kept Newmarket in front. Cullen did have one final point but a gritty and resolute Newmarket side held out for a notable victory.

Newmarket now advance to meet Rockchapel in the semi final.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
David Guiney Mark Murphy Anthony Crowley
Brian O’Riordan Bart Daly Matthew Fitzpatrick
Brian Daly (0-1) Gerard Casey
Barry O’Leary John Cronin (1-0) T.J. Bodie (0-3)
Shane Anthony Murphy Shane Murphy (0-2) Sean Doody

SUBS: Micheal Hourigan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors